FILEX holds awards


Leave a comment and share

Chuks Udo Okonta

All is now set for the maiden edition of the Financial Literacy Excellence Awards, FILEX, under the auspices of one of Nigeria’s foremost Non-Governmental Organizations, the Development Initiatives Network, DIN.

The Executive Director of DIN and Convener of the FILEX Awards, Dr. Bola Fajemirokun has said that the Award ceremony promises to be a very memorable event which will go down in the annals of history as a reference point for the advocacy for financial literacy in the country.

She made this known at a media parley with journalists in Lagos while fielding questions on the Award Ceremony which is slated for Friday, May 27, 2016, at the Four Points Sheraton Hotels, Oniru, Lagos.

She further mentioned that three Nigerian corporate organizations and an individual who have excellently distinguished themselves in the advocacy of financial literacy based on their different intervention initiatives in the country will be honoured at the Award Ceremony.

The winners include, the Nigerian Stock Exchange, NSE, which won the Corporate Achievement Award under the Financial Institutions category while Financial Literacy for All, a non-governmental organization gets the Corporate Achievement Award in the Non-Financial Institutions category.

The Enterprise Development Centre, EDC, an affiliate of the Lagos Business School, LBS, is the winner of the Innovation Award and Ms. Sola Salako, the individual winner for the Consumer Champion Award.

Dr. Bola Fajemirokun, in her words explained that the “FILEX Awards is indeed a recognition of the unrelenting efforts of those organizations and individuals who have, over the years, committed, time, resources and considerable energy to the work of financial literacy advocacy with a view to entrenching enduring economic development in the country.”

The theme of this year’s Award Ceremony has been dubbed “Footprints of Distinction”. The Chairperson, Filex Awards Committee and Ace Broadcaster, Bimbo Oloyede, described the process leading to the selection of the winners as a very transparent one in every sense of the word.

She opined that such initiative should be given adequate support by government and corporate organizations especially those in the Financial Sector as a way of promoting financial literacy amongst the younger generations in the country.

Other members of the Filex Awards Committee are Toke Mabogunje, Vice President, Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industries, Bolaji Okusaga, Managing Director, Quadrant Company and Rotimi Adekunle Korede, Managing Director,Floodgate Insurance Brokers Limited.

The Filex Award Ceremony will be anchored by one of Nigeria’s greatest broadcasters of all time, Taiwo Obileye while OluJazz, the budding Sensational Jazz Artist will thrill guests atthe epoch-making event.

One Comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *