NCRIB inducts Tope Adaramola, 47 others as fellows

From left: Executive Secretary, Nigerian Council of Registered Insurance Brokers, Tope Adaramola in a handshake with past President, Shola Tinubu, while other dignitaries look.

Kindly leave a comment and share

Chuks Udo Okonta

The Nigerian Council of Registered Insurance Brokers (NCRIB) has inducted its Executive Secretary/Chief Executive Officer, Tope Adaramola and 47 other members as fellows, which is the highest echelon of membership.

President of NCRIB, Rotimi Edu, speaking at the Fellows Day and Investiture of new Fellows of the Council, in Lagos, last week, Thursday, said the induction is in line with the prescription of the NCRIB Act No 21 of 2003 for the admission of members into the highest echelon of its membership category.

He noted that the Fellows Day is held on a yearly basis to allow for high level professional and social interaction amongst Fellows, for the continuous development of the Council, adding that the Governing Board approved that the induction of new Fellows be held as part of this year’s Fellows Day.

He said the process leading to the admission of the new Fellows was quite stringent, as the candidates were considered on the basis of professional qualifications, integrity and leadership traits, among other criteria.

“These hurdles have become necessary for the admission of this category of membership in view of the responsibility that the position behoves them.

“Aside from being expected to be the beacon of light to inspire others, the new Fellows are required to be above board in all their undertakings.

“It is heartwarming that the 48 Fellows would be admitted today into the Society of Fellows,” he submitted.

Speaking on the Induction Talk themed: ‘Maintaining generational relevance’ delivered by Eng. Abiodun Fijabi, a prolific speaker, leadership coach and iconic personality, he noted that since leadership, is Influence, the new status has foisted on all awardees the need to be above board in all areas of their lives and practice adding that they must hold themselves out as good ambassadors and role models whose conduct must be above board at all times.

Chairman, Society of Fellows NCRIB, Prosper Okpue, said the Society of Fellows under his leadership would continue to collaborate with the Board of Fellows to enhance solid professional standards of the membership category, adding that
this period is crucial to the existence of Insurance Broking practice in Nigeria, considering several challenges faced by operators.

“Whilst the country’s economic situation has remained parlous, inhibiting insurance growth generally, the Broking sector is particularly being challenged by regulatory prescriptions, making the practice more herculean. However, in all these, our Council and its members could only stay afloat if we all take up the responsibility to play as one and continually innovate,” he posited.

He said the fellowship conferred on the distinguished members was nothing, but a call to higher responsibility and service, stressing that as members of the highest grade of broking practice, the new Fellows must “covenant themselves” with the ideals and aspirations of the NCRIB.

Chairman, Board of Fellows of NCRIB, Mrs. Laide Osijo, noted that Fellowship cadre represents the highest echelon of the Council as it has its member’s highly experienced, seasoned and versatile professionals who have and are also paying their dues in the profession and that Fellowship cadre is quite prestigious, but also confers a great deal of responsibilities on the holders to rise above the ordinary level in terms of professionalism, adherence to ethical standards and possession of greater leadership skills, stressing that at periods when there would be need for recourse to greater knowledge and wisdom for direction, the Fellow should be handy or not be found wanting.

She congratulated the Fellows , whist stating that the esteemed roll of Fellows of the Council includes eminent Nigerians, some of whom are;
• The Former President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo.
• Her Excellency, The First Lady of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Senator Oluremi Tinubu.
• The Executive Governor of Lagos State, His Excellency Babajide Sanwo Olu.
• Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, Gboyega Oyetola.
• Ooni of Ife, His Imperial Majesty, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, Ojaja II.
• Former Governor of Osun State, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola.
• Former Governor of Ondo State, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko.
• Commissioner for Insurance, Sunday Thomas.
• Former Commissioner for Insurance, Fola Daniel.
• Former Commissioner for Insurance, Alhaji Mohammed Kari .Amongst others.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *